Alice in Baytown

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Poetry
Tags: , ,

 

You walked into the lounge

haughty and spiteful

you dragged the chair

draped your arms around it

I squirmed and turned

I looked into your eyes

you smelt of perfume

leather straps and shoes

and a rotten heart to boot

I stood up and walked over

the dance floor unsteadily

you followed me and

grabbed me in your arms

I held on too so I wouldn’t slip

you tightened your grip

saying it is alright

another day will see us alive

I was drunk and just laughed

didn’t think but sobered up

you said it was the best night ever

how would I know, I was drunk?

shining through the window

the moon casting its glow

Pulled myself up and strutted out

for me it was another night

will you miss me, you yelled?

not a chance, I cried

you are just the money

and I am game, I said

I was lost and found

somewhere on the plains

walking in circles

until I hit Bay town

I don’t hold on, I let go

I ain’t anyone’s heart

I am all of that and none

I am nobody, even to me

I smelt the morning air

and smiled as I inhaled

I blew smoke rings

watched it glide away

another day, another dawn

In Bay town all alone

while you saddled up

and rode away downtown

Comments
  1. SeaGlass says:

    I thought this was quite interesting, and I definitely like the feel of it. But why the exclamation mark at the end?

  2. Thank you SeaGlass for stopping by and reading. Appreciate it. Liked your poetry too.
    The exclamation leaves me puzzled too so I take it out.
    cheers
    suja