Urban Serengeti

Posted: January 12, 2011 in Poetry
Tags: ,

 

Walking down the streets of life

I take a turn first left, then right

I cross the street and run

Run some more faltering

The vertical boxes and

Zebra crossings, trapping me

And daring me…

 

Neon signs and halogen lamps

Casting shadows big and small

Just sitting by the sidewalk

Staring at cars whizzing by

Shouldn’t I be in one of them?

Just driving down the

Winding road…

 

Just me and my self

And a thousand thoughts

The music blaring and

Passing milestones

Just free as a bird

Taking me away, to a secret place

Away from this urban life…

 

Where life stands still

And time is just a frozen word

Where night blends into day

And stars shine with the sun

No questions asked

Nor answers sought

——–

 

(For # oneshotpoetry)

 

Comments
  1. waystationone says:

    there are days i wish i could just drive off the map and find that place….smiles.

  2. Loved this stanza … :)

    Where life stands still

    And time is just a frozen word

    Where night blends into day

    And stars shine with the sun

    No questions asked

    Nor answers sought

  3. Lisa says:

    Ahhh….sweet :) I did this yesterday, car + tank of gas + good tunes + ciggies. Alone with the Knowing nothing could stop me. I am so with your poem. Enjoyable. Invokes feelings and memories.

  4. panchali says:

    beautiful lines….! but i also loved the title :-)

  5. Chandrika says:

    Nice flow. I can relate to this. I too wish someyimes I can go back to a simple life where life stands still :) Enjoyed this

  6. booguloo says:

    Ah.. to find peace in the present.

  7. Kavita says:

    Oh yes, absolutely! There are places and moments even within the city, that can keep one’s senses together… and bring you back to the living!

    A beautiful poem with a smoooooth flow and rhythm to it, Suja.. enjoyed this ride!

  8. Kavitha, Good to see you here. Thank you…a breather from the urban life…and an escape from its madness and trappings.

    Booguloo, yes true..peace within oneself too…

    Chanda, good to see you and true a place to stay still…

    Panchali, good to see you here..happy you liked it..

    Lisa thank you and so true..kindered spirit..I love driving and can keep going with the music on and just keep going wherever the road takes..

    Daisy great to see you…thank you for liking. those are my favorite lines too..

    waystationone, thank you for stopping by…I agree drive away where the urban life ends and enjoy nature in serenity..

  9. Steve Isaak says:

    Solid thought-wandering work.

  10. Steve thank you for stopping by and leaving your thoughts too.:) Have a good one.