Muse

Posted: August 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

The closed room, a whirring fan spinning tepid air in a circle first, then into a whirlwind as the hot air rises up from haranguing humans. I am zoning in and out, the mind processing some- letting go few notes which seemed to collide with the solid walls that has boxed us in. I watch in lazy fascination the boomerang of syllables falling in a pile on the table in front of us. So many words, so many thoughts exploding like projectiles, then gathering on the floor like hail stones, a few feathers here and there among them.Throwing back my thoughts I was taken gently by hand, leading me away from the cacophony; they opened the windows to that effulgent being who had stoked my imagination, cavorting dangerously with my mind, guiding me on to the path that few have walked- before me.

Forces beyond me draped them lovingly around me, warming my soul and smiling blithely in its shade. I knew it was transient and as all spells are they would get wiped out by reality. Such is the power of a thought; it takes one through the journey, engulfing one in its simplicity and assuring one that matters of the heart are as light as a feather when allowed to settle in, while unsettling the equanimity. It was the most beautiful feeling- one that can be wished upon the living in all its brilliance. Those too eventually fall in a heap without diminishing their essence. They make me smile even when the air is rancid and have distanced me from the rest who are there in body- making a sound that I see but don’t hear.

The room had fallen quiet and I hadn’t noticed. They were looking at me and waiting for an answer. I don’t seem to have one. I was re-living my cherished moments in the wrong place, at odd times.

~S

Comments are closed.